By Jane Whitty

We can’t go to the grocery store or walk down the street these days without being approached by a representative from a charitable organization asking for a donation. There are charities covering every imaginable need and appealing to every demographic but yet there are still so many causes that are underserved. Organizations working for a cause that have not yet reached the level of mass consciousness seem to be operating under the radar. I think that is what really appealed to me about the Voices from Chornobyl project. I was caught off guard. It was not raising awareness for a cause that normally gets the spot light (though those are equally worthy and inspiring), it was an opportunity to get involved in something that I, shameful to say, knew very little about. As I have been educating myself since getting involved one of the hardest things to come to grips with is the magnitude of what took place at Chornobyl and the shockingly disproportionate response and continued lack of conversation about the topic. The politics of the region, then and now, aside it is profound how quickly people stopped talking about Chornobyl. That is also what I find really exciting about Voices from Chornobyl – it gets people talking. It strives to create a dialogue about this topic that seems long over due.

With every new bit of information I learn about what happened and is still happening in Chornobyl, I am struck by how little I knew and how much needs to be done to improve the situation. There are numerous amazing organizations working all over the world to help those affected by Chornobyl and I am excited to promote them in any way we can. To bring their story to more audiences so that hopefully, in the future, fewer people will be caught off guard by the topic of Chornobyl.